Influenced.

ako_06_19_June19_Influenced

I owe a large part of who I am today to my father and my mother. While no one is perfect, my parents have been steadfast with their discipline, guidance, love, support, and dependability. They took their role as father and mother very seriously. My sister and I always felt secure and loved. I am deeply grateful for being blessed with not one, but two magnificent people to direct and advise me through my formative years. And, I am blessed to have both my parents alive and well, while many of my peers have lost one or both of their parents. Mother’s Day and Father’s Day can be a difficult time for those of us who no longer have our parents or never really had a positive relationship with them.

However, the influence of our parents, no matter their roles in our lives (positive or negative), is quite significant. My mother often has told me she did not want to be like her mother; as my father did not want to be like his father. That being said, I never witnessed my parents blaming their parents for anything. Instead, I observed them acting responsibly, as they went to work every day, provided food and shelter, maintained our home, and enjoyed much of their free time with my sister and me.

But, my greatest lessons came from watching how they interacted with their co-workers, neighbors, friends, family and with each other. I saw their kindness and their integrity. I saw their friendliness and their generosity. I saw their genuineness and their loyalty. I saw how they coped with stress. And, I witnessed how they dealt with negativity. Each of my observations were building blocks to my own character and personality.

As an adult, I became acutely aware of how my words and actions can impact others under my charge. Regrettably, I have not been blessed with children of my own, however, I have been in a position of authority in my profession as a teacher. I know my students watch me; and, I take care to be positive influence, not only for my students, but as a legacy to my parents. After all, I am my parent’s daughter, and the acorn does not fall too far from the tree.

All rights reserved.  ©2017 by A. K. Orobko

Leave a Reply

