Make moments meaningful.

ako_06_05_June05_MakeMomentsMeaningful2017

Forever – is composed of Nows
BY EMILY DICKINSON

Forever – is composed of Nows –
‘Tis not a different time –
Except for Infiniteness –
And Latitude of Home –

From this – experienced Here –
Remove the Dates – to These –
Let Months dissolve in further Months –
And Years – exhale in Years –

Without Debate – or Pause –
Or Celebrated Days –
No different Our Years would be
From Anno Dominies –

Ms. Emily Dickinson’s poem profoundly describes NOW. Now is the moment we are experiencing. Now is this present moment without debate or pause or celebrated days… no different.  Many of us live from one moment to another, one day to another, one month to another, one year to another without giving it too much thought or attention. Time just passes. All these passing moments combined makes up forever.

How do I want my part of forever to look like? How do you want yours to look like?

I want each of my moments to have meaning and purpose. I want my time to have significance and importance. I want every moment to count for something. What is the best way to do this? I have found that awareness and mindfulness to be essential parts in creating more meaningful moments and a celebrated now.

Every bite, I will savor. Every word, I will cherish. Every breath, I will relish. Every smile, I will enjoy. Every moment, I will appreciate and value.  With every tick and every tock, I will be mindful of my thoughts and actions. Some moments may slip by without notice; but, more and more will be observed and treasured. This is how I intend to make my mark in the fabric of forever.

All rights reserved.  ©2017 by A. K. Orobko

Leave a Reply

