Benefits of Solo Time

ako_05-08_May08_titled

Solo time in the midst of nature is beneficial to our overall well-being. Any time that we can spend alone doing something creative, mindful and meditative away from the distractions of our electronic devices can be revitalizing. Activities like painting, drawing, meditating, dancing, playing a musical instrument, baking, cooking, gardening, knitting, sewing, wood-working, writing, etc., will rejuvenate and restore our mind, body, and spirit. The month of May happens to be National Meditation Month. Here is a glimpse of the benefits of meditation:

Image result

I have been enjoying some contemplative time both outdoors and in my studio this week. The weather has been mild and pleasant, which has limited my excuses to get outdoors and feel the sun and a gentle breeze on my face and to smell the fragrances of Spring. It is fresh and clean. Outdoors in my butterfly garden, which is just still in its early stages, is my favorite place to breathe deeply, close my eyes and focus only on the sounds around me… rustling leaves, birds, frogs. Soon, my mind is able to release the stress, the clutter, the worry. I am transported to a quiet place as I continue to focus on nature and my breathing.

Indoors in my studio I have been creating art in my journal using various materials. One exercise I have been doing this month is “MAY”king faces with my non-dominant hand using my favorite black ink pens (Uni-ball Vision and Pilot Precise V7). The other exercise I have been doing requires me to close my eyes and just let my pen or brush move on the page without the benefit of sight. Both these exercises have been quite liberating as I relinquish control and outcome.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Some of my resulting artwork has been surprising. I have been enjoying the process of letting go and allowing my creative side take over. I am learning to listen to my intuition like when to start and stop, where to put lines and color, etc. I have found this to be a great way to simply express myself for my soul and not create something perfect for my ego.

The reward of spending time alone has enriched my work as a writer, teacher and artist. I intend to include and incorporate more solo time for meditation and creativity into my schedule. I invite you to do the same.

All rights reserved. ©2017 by A. K. Orobko

Leave a Reply

