Journey by train.

jan23_journey_by_train

From Tuesday evening into early Wednesday morning, I journeyed by train from Richmond, Virginia to Jacksonville, Florida. This was my first experience on Amtrak and it was a good one. I was in coach class and I was pleased to see the ample room each passenger is given. And, the attendants were very helpful and friendly. I am returning home tonight via Amtrak and I am looking forward to a comfortable ride.

Now, let me take your imagination into my journey as I go aboard the Silver Star. One of the train attendants has taken my bags and placed them in the area above my seat. I have the window seat. The window is large with an unobscured view of our surroundings. The temperature on the train is comfortable as I remove my winter jacket. The sun is setting around 5:30 p.m. and the train is starting to move, just after the “ALL ABOARD” announcement is made. The train gradually picks up speed, click-a-tee-clack – click-a-tee-clack. I am tickled by the subtle sounds and movement.

As the train gains momentum, I can hardly feel it except at the crossings. The sun set quickly. Twilight soon becomes night. The view from my window is now mostly dark with occasional red light from passing train-crossing signals and the moon playing hide-and-seek among the clouds and trees. The sound of the train horn delights my spirit, a deep whooooo-whoooooooooo. I am lulled in and out of sleep.

The Silver Star made stops every hour or so, where passengers got on and off. The lights in the car were dimmed at 10 p.m. and everyone was asked to keep noise/sound levels down. This made it a bit easier to sleep, however, I truly did not get a good sleep until the last 2 hours of my journey. Tonight, I have an extra head pillow and an eye mask. I will let you know how it goes in my next installment. As I came to the end of my journey, it was an early morning dark before the light at 6 a.m. I was groggy and excited to be at my destination on time! Wheeeee! What an adventure it was.

All rights reserved. ©2017 by A. K. Orobko

Leave a Reply

