The GIFT of our presence.

ako-blog-dec-19-gift-presence

One of the most significant and loving gifts we can give is our presence, our full attention, our time. This past weekend I was able to attend one of my dear friend’s Christmas open house. During this wonderful event, I experienced delightful exchanges of positive energy with the others guests when I gave my full attention and presence to them. The more I gave, the more I received. The whole evening was magical and memorable.

In the span of almost four hours, I felt connected with the friends of my friends whom I have never met before the open house. I am delighted that I had the opportunity to expand my social circle by being fully present. The gift of our full attention and our presence is one of the best things we can give each other. Joyfulness develops within us and others when we are able to give our undivided attention and time with others.

Preoccupation and divided attention has been the nemesis of joy and happiness. The people with whom we interact will sense it. Our own memory of our encounters with others when we are inattentive will be faint at best. And, as a result, the footing for joy and happiness will be ambiguous. Seeds of resentment plants itself in these situations, which eventually results various forms of negativity. All this can be avoided by making a decision to be fully present in our own lives, events, and actions. Let us make the gift of our presence part of our daily routine. Have a joyful holiday and a happy early Christmas!

All rights reserved. ©2016 by A. K. Orobko

Leave a Reply

