Joy is…

AUG16_joy_is

Joy is a positive feeling that I experience when my expectations are met. I make it a point to keep my expectations sensible and/or flexible as to not become frustrated. For example, I have been swimming daily with the expectation to swim at least one-quarter of a mile, which is 18 laps in the pool I use; however, my goal has been to swim 25 laps a day, 5 days a week. This is a reasonable goal, which I have met and exceeded each time this week. If I only did 20 laps, I would still be content, because I still met my sensible expectation of 18 laps.

When I give myself a break from unreasonable expectations and perfectionism, I am less stressed, which allows me to perform at my best. And, then I become delighted with the results of my creative work. That sensible expectation or balance is as simple as saying to yourself, “I will happy no matter the outcome.” When we let go of our unrealistic prospects, this allows us to embrace who we are at the moment and enjoy what we are doing. Essentially, we are enjoying the process of whatever activity in which we are engaged. And, as we delight in our experiences, the better the outcomes. I love how things just work out that way!

All rights reserved. ©2016 by A. K. Orobko

Leave a Reply

