U.F.O.S Exposed

AUG05_UFO_00

On Sunday, July 17 around 10 a.m. Rick and I explored Roswell’s International U.F.O. Museum & Research Center after we checked out of Motel 6. By the way, many of the motels and hotels in Roswell have extraterrestrial “mascots” at their entrance. A bit tawdry and laughable, yet endearing at the same time. We are in Roswell, New Mexico after all. And, we are going to the U.F.O. Museum, right?

I had no expectations; but, when we came to a building that looked like a converted movie theater, I was a tad bit discouraged in its grunginess. I suppose being born and raised 2.5 hours from Washington D.C.’s Smithsonian Institute, living on the doorstep of N.A.S.A. Langley Research Center in Hampton, Virginia, and being a daughter of a N.A.S.A. electrical engineer who was involved in the space program and real science had made me extremely biased and a bit dubious of this “museum.” But, my husband and I made the trip to Roswell, so we decided to see what all the hype was about.

While it wasn’t the Smithsonian, it was okay. The museum displays of evidences they had were a tad better than a high school science fair; however, a leap of faith was needed to be convinced whether extraterrestrials crash landed back in 1947. Was there a cover-up or conspiracy? Probably. But, was it to hide evidences of aliens from other star systems; or, was it to hide our own technological research?

A few compelling photos were on display that had me wondering. I did appreciate how the museum shared photos of identified flying objects alongside photographic evidences of unidentified flying objects. Will I keep an open mind? Always. But, I will also be discerning and judicious on what I will believe wholeheartedly. Overall, it was fun to get caught up in U.F.O. mania as I did buy a tee-shirt and other kitsch. After a couple of hours, my husband I knew we had to get back on the road if we were to make it to Fort Worth, Texas by sundown.

All rights reserved. ©2016 by A. K. Orobko

Leave a Reply

