Fully embrace who you are.



Why is it easier to see the splendor and significance of others, but more challenging or uncomfortable to regard and appreciate our own beautiful spirit? Is it because humility is one of the seven heavenly virtues? The virtues are identified as chastity, temperance, charity, diligence, patience, kindness, and humility. Practicing them is said to protect one against temptation from the seven deadly sins (though the sins have fluctuated over time, the currently recognized list includes hubristic (excessive) pride, greed, lust, malicious envy, gluttony, wrath and sloth).

Humility is not thinking less of yourself, it is thinking of yourself less. It is the courage of the heart necessary to undertake tasks which are hard, dull or unglamorous, and to accept graciously the sacrifices involved. It is giving credit where credit is due; not unfairly glorifying one’s own self. The key phrase is unfairly glorifying one’s own self. To NOT honor ourselves is unjust to our loving spirits. Clearly, we need to find a balance with which we feel most comfortable; however, let us be encouraged to see ourselves with the same eyes we see others. This allows us to be the best possible people we can be for others. Let us fully embrace who we are and honor our beautiful spirits!


All rights reserved. ©2016 by A. K. Orobko


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s