Take a stand. Expect better.

feb29-TakeStand

Today is Super Tuesday in the United States, the biggest day of the 2016 primary season, with 13 states and one territory participating: Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Georgia, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, Wyoming and American Samoa.

I live in Virginia and I will be at the polls today. And, I need to voice some concern. I am disappointed in how all the candidates have been conducting themselves. As an anti-bullying advocate, I cannot remain quiet when our nation’s leaders continue their negative campaigning.

The important issues that concern me are not being addressed directly, when the candidates exchange insults instead of explaining their plans, tactics, and strategies on our nation’s current challenges; as if, they are deliberately trying to skirt around the issues with their sideshows. I want to see the candidates delineate their experiences and strengths. I want to know how they intend to work with Congress to address the economy, climate change, health care (rising costs of medications), criminal justice, and privacy & data security. Don’t you?

Let us start voicing our concerns. Let us write our current leaders. Let us use social media responsibly. Let us unite and tell our leaders we EXPECT BETTER!

I am taking a stand. And, I expect better.

All rights reserved. ©2016 by A.K. Orobko

Leave a Reply

