From complacency to appreciation.

08feb-complacency

Funny, how we do not miss things until we no longer have them. ~ Dr. Angi

Those words carry so much truth. I recall a time when we were without power for about an hour; but, it was the longest hour of my life. Thank goodness the temperature outside was mild; but, nightfall was fast approaching and the greying light of dusk was making it difficult to see. Switching on the lights was a futile task. Using my cordless telephone was not an option. My laptop worked because the battery was charged; but, I had no internet connection. My Wi-Fi router runs on electricity. And, my husband had our cell phone with him at work.

The time passed slowly as I was waiting in anticipation for the power to return. I was longing for all the conveniences of having electricity. I could not believe how complacent I had become. I have grown accustomed to having it always available. As, I was contemplating and appreciating all the amenities and comforts of having electricity, BAM! the power came back. As I look back on this, I can see clearly that this complacency has stretched into other aspects of my life including interpersonal relationships, my livelihood, and my health. How often do we stop and truly appreciate the loved ones in our lives? Do we take time to value our job and/or our health?

My life would be challenging without my livelihood, my health, my husband, my family, and my friends. I try not to assume that they will always be in my life. Furthermore, I am grateful for the contrasts in my life, like a flat tire on my car or my husband recuperating from the flu. Yes, passing setbacks are unpleasant, but they raise my awareness and remind me of what and who is truly important in my life.

Let us count our blessings and appreciate the loved ones in our lives. And, let me take this moment to let you know how much I appreciate you for reading my blog. You are wonderful and I am deeply grateful!

All rights reserved. ©2016 by A.K. Orobko

Leave a Reply

